2013 Blogging Plans

2012 In Review / Thank You Everyone:

I’m going to start off this entry by saying, “HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY!!” There were many great things in 2012. Whether I was meeting new people, building current friendships, or even just collecting baseballs, it seemed like I was always bringing home ‘a piece of the game’.

There are a lot of links in this entry, so if you are interested in what you’re reading, click the nearest link!

First off, I met a lot of new people and made a lot of new friends from blogging and ballhawking.

In January of 2012, I came across a video on YouTube of Zack Hample playing catch with a player at Kauffman Stadium (I remember because I should have been studying for finals). After the video ended, I found some more videos about Zack on the sidebar and eventually found his website. From there, I found a link to his blog, The Baseball Collector . Lo and behold, this was the first I learned about Ballhawking. Zack was the one who got me familiar with ballhawking.

In May of 2012, I came across Mateo Fischer’s blog,Observing Baseball, from reading the comments on one of Zack’s entries. I found one of Mateo’s blog posts from when he first visited Target Field. This was great, because in a few days I would be going to a game at Target Field (5-9-12 @ Target Field – Angels vs. Twins). I commented on Mateo’s blog and we got to talking to each other. Even though Zack got me familiar with ballhawking, Mateo was the person who really “set the trap”. After talking with Mateo, I knew I wanted to ballhawk. In June, when I was thinking about starting a blog, Mateo was the one who really encouraged me to do it. So, Thank you very much Mateo!

I met Shawn B, a.k.a. Ballhawk Shawn, on June 18th at Miller Park. At the time I had no idea who he was, but thought it was cool how he also Ball hawked. It wasn’t for about a month or two after the game that I learned how successful he is at ballhawking. Shawn has over 1000 baseballs and over 20 game home run balls in his MLB collection. In September we followed each other on Twitter, and now we chat sort of frequently. He runs the blog, The Inherent Dangers of Watching Professional Baseball.

In July, I started talking to Chris Hernandez on his blog, The Ballhawker , and pretty soon we knew each other fairly well. About a month ago he sent me a Brewers’ shirt (which I reimbursed him for). It looks pretty cool! Chris lives near New York City, and does most of his ballhawking at Yankee Stadium and Citi Field.

Tony Voda, whom I met in late August, is getting to be a good friend of mine. I met him on Plouffe’s New Hairdo, his blog, on August 27th. I met him in person the next day at a Twins game with Mateo. Tony and I have been to 2 games together in 2012 and hopefully will go to more in 2013.

I haven’t known Nick Badders very long, but I can already say that he is a very cool guy who writes a really great blog called 7000 Coliseum Way . He lives in California and loves to watch and blog about the Oakland A’s. Nick runs his own radio show on blog talk radio. I’ve enjoy listening to it, and have called in to speak with him a few times on the air. It’s a great show, so go check it out on Sunday nights at 8:30 Pacific Time. To find the next broadcast, go to blogtalkradio.com/nickbadders .

After a Twins game on September 28th, I briefly chatted with a kid next to the Tigers dugout, and mentioned him at the end of my blog post for that game. Two days ago, by complete chance, I found him and Twitter. His name is Ben Lacher, and he is a baseball super fan! He and his father are season ticket holders at Target Field. Over the years Ben has gotten to know many baseball players. He also collects baseball cards and autographs. You will be hearing a little more about him in another post in a month or two.

These are just a few of the many people I’ve met in 2012 because of ballhawking and blogging. Honestly, there are too many people to mention in this entry. Thank you to everyone that I’ve met this year for making ballhawking and blogging so enjoyable!!

I would like to thank each and every person who has viewed my blog in the last 6 months! As a blogger, it is nice to see that people are actually reading your blog. Otherwise, there wouldn’t really be a point to blogging if there isn’t an audience. Thankfully, this wasn’t a problem! Thank you for reading!

Ballhawking wise, I think I had a pretty good year! In my first year ballhawking I collected 39 balls in 10 games. If you want to see a statistical break down of my 2012 stats, click here to view my 2012 Ballhawking Review. Yet, I still have a lot of room for improvement… I have many goals for 2013.

Thank you everyone for a great year!

2013 Blogging Plans:

As some of you know, I started this blog for the purpose of writing about my ballhawking experiences at MLB games. I have really enjoyed all my experiences in 2012, and hope to do a lot more ballhawking in 2013. However, I also hope to incorporate something new into A Piece of The Game. I would like to shift the main focus of my blog from ballhawking to interviewing baseball players. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ditching ballhawking by any means. In fact, I hope to get to 15 games during the 2013 season. So you will actually be seeing more posts about ballhawking than last season.

Like I was saying, I would like to shift the main focus to interviewing players. I interviewed 7 players this December alone, and I have a few more interviews lined up. Vote on which interview you want me to post next… hurry up because voting ends on January 3rd.

Facebook:

For the last few months it has been a plan of mine to start a Facebook page for this blog, and yesterday I did! You can find it by clicking here, or by simply searching ” A Piece of The Game” on Facebook.

A Piece of The Game’s One-Year Anniversary:

Mark the date, The one-year anniversary of  ‘A Piece of The Game’ is on June 21st, and I plan to post something specific to that on that special day. I have a few initial ideas for what I want to do with it, but I’m going to wait at least until May to start writing it. Let me know if you have any ideas for that entry!

Blog Icon:

To mark the one year anniversary, I would like to create a blog icon. I would appreciate any help I could get, whether its passing a long an idea that you have, or making it for me! HAHA, anything will help :) If there are numerous choices, I will have you vote on them, like Mateo Fischer did here.

First Ball – Three-Year Anniversary:

July 19th, 2010 was the day on which I got my first MLB baseball. July 19th, 2013 will mark 3 years since my first ball! I also plan to post something specific to that on that special day.

2013 Ballhawking Goals:

1. Attend 15 MLB games. In 2012 I attended 10 games. I wanted to slightly increase this number, so I chose 15.

2. Attend 1 MLB game outside of Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Missouri.

3. Have an avg. of at least 4.5 baseballs per game. At this rate, I would snag 67.5 baseballs in 15 games in 2013.

4. Snag 60 baseballs.

5. Snag each type of 2013 commemorative baseball (if there are commemorates in 2013. Please, Astros and Rockies, Please!)

6. Have a hit : thrown ball ratio of at least 2:10 . In 2012 my hit : thrown ball ratio was 1:12.7 – I feel there is PLENTY of room for improvement in that area.

7. Get 10 autographs at games. I got a few in 2012 without trying very much, so this shouldn’t be too difficult. Hopefully…

8. Meet many more people from ballhawking and blogging. I have already met some really awesome people, so I hope I will get to meet even more at the ballpark!

9. Finish in the top 3 for the MyGameBalls.com Junior Ballhawk of the Year Award. In the 2012 voting, I took 5th place, and was placed behind Mateo Fischer, “Irish”, Cooks and Sons, and Tom Mikita, respectively.

10. Finish in the top 50 in the MLBlogs Latest Leaders. I hope you keep reading my blog!

Closing Words:

Nick badders, Mateo Fischer and I all planned to post a “New Years Day / 2013 goals” entries on New Years Day, and link each other in them. SO, here is the link to Nick’s blog post: http://wp.me/p1AVZv-Xb . Go check that out, I have already read it and it is very good! I recommend reading it.

You can check out Mateo’s New Year’s Day blog post here: http://wp.me/p1wIr6-9dYk . I have also read his, and it too was very good! Both Nick and Mateo have some great goals for 2013!

Thank you, Nick and Mateo, for all your help and for being good friends!

If you see something that is wrong with this entry, or if you see that something is missing, Let me know in the comments! Thank you for reading! Have a happy New Year!!

14 Comments

It was a joy getting to know you on 2012. I wish you much success in all your baseball adventures in 2013! Your goals sound reasonable and attainable. As the season gets closer, definitely send me a list of your games and we’ll have to hang out at the hate some more.

One of my goals is to have more photos and videos, so I may have to have you remind me at the gates. It’s just so easy to have tunnel-vision and forget to document as it happens.

Stay warm in the meantime! Only 3 more months until Opening Day!

Thanks for reading Tony! I apprecitate all the support you’ve given me since I met you in August. I look forward to hanging out at the gate. Because of this last year, the gate has become a very memorable part of my trips to Target Field (getting to know you and Mateo, and hopefully many others in the future). What do you meen “Only 3 months” …3 months is a very long time!! :)
I’ll be sure to remind you about recording next season. Until then, best wishes in blogging, as well as in life in general. When we get a little closer to the start of the season, remind me to talk to you about donating to your charity work.
-Paul K

I remember that first time you sent me your first “game log” for me to look at over e-mail and you didn’t think you should start a blog. I’m glad I convinced you to do that. I can’t believe that was not even 3/4ths of a year ago. It’s come a long way since then. It’s fun, right?
-Mateo

http://mateofischer.mlblogs.com

Imagine what would’ve happened if we had never had that first conversation on your blog/email… You would have been deprived of knowing such an awesome person, *cough* ME *cough* :) !!
Haha, but on a more serious note, thank you once again for all of the support you have given me in the last 6 months. My life would be a lot different than it is now if it weren’t for you (Yes, this is a good thing). Opening day is coming up in 3 months. Hopefully i’ll see you at many more games in 2013. I want to go to at least 15 this year.
-Paul K

Well I still would have known you, Paul, since I couldn’t’ve given you the idea for the blog otherwise. But good luck with getting to fifteen games next season. You went to, what, ten-ish last season?
-Mateo

http://mateofischer.mlblogs.com

Yes, I went to 10 games last season. There is pretty good chance I will be going to Milwaukee over spring break (which is also opening week). I hope to get to 2 games at Miller Park (not opening day though). Best wishes with obtaining all of your goals too. I’m confident that you will.
-Paul K

Pingback: 20 Goals for 2013 « 7000 Coliseum Way

Pingback: Goals for 2013 « Minor League Ballhawk

Paul, I actually just made a 2013 goals on my blog. I included the link to your entry also. I want to get a blog icon and get in the top 50 also. I will definitely continue to read your blog. Happy New Year Paul!
-Quinn
http://www.milbballhawk.mlblogs.com

Quinn –
I actually read your blog entry a minute or two after you posted it. Thanks for the shout-out and for linking me in your post. You have some very good goals, all of which I am confident you will achieve during 2013. I’ll drop a comment on your blog soon. Thanks for reading, and have a happy New Year!!
-Paul

Thanks for reading Paul! I just put goals that I think are reasonable that I can achieve I believe. Happy New Year to you also.
-Quinn
http://www.milbballhawk.mlblogs.com

I think those are some very attainable goals. Somehow last year I made it to a little over 20 MLB games, and about 6-8 Minor League games (dont remember the exact number off the top of my head). Which cities are you thinking of seeing for goal #2? Last year, I set a goal of 50 balls for myself, and finished with 72 I believe. I’m still hoping for leftover Astros commemoratives from 2012…. haha. And someone is going to have to explain to me the qualifications for those “ballhawk of the year” awards sometime. I also have some ideas for some of the things you needed suggestions for but I can share them with you later. Thanks for the shout-out too!
– Chris

http://ballhawker.wordpress.com

How many games are you planning to attend next season? I am really hoping to go to a game in Chicago, whether its Wrigley, or U.S. Cellular Field. I’m pretty sure that I will be staying with my reletives, who live near Milwaukee, over spring break. A game in Milwaukee will be more likely though.
Ask Mateo about the ballhawk of the year, he will beable to better explain it… although, isnt the name pretty self explanitory? :)
What were you saying about ideas for some of the things I needed suggestions for?
-Paul K

I’d like to see 30 games this year. I’m gonna have a post about it soon. I’m under the weather, so staring at the screen for more than 2 minutes gives me a headache. Lol
I’ll be in Chicago May-18-20.
– Chris

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

