4-1-13 @ Target Field – Tigers vs. Twins OPENING DAY!!!

Because it was Opening Day, tickets were hard to come by for a reasonable price. I thought that $15 was alright for a ticket in the 300 level so I bought 2 tickets there. My friend Asher and I left my house early and we got to the Mall of America around 9 a.m. If you haven’t ever been to the Mall of America, I would recommend checking it out sometime. There are hundreds of stores, two food courts, an underground aquarium, a movie theatre, Lego land, and an indoor amusement park called Nickelodeon Universe. Of course, that’s not all there is to do at the Mall of America. I’ll show you a few pictures to give you an idea what it looks like. If you have any questions about the mall be sure to ask me in the comments.

Mall of America

Mall of America

Mall / Nickelodeon Universe

Mall / Nickelodeon Universe

Nickelodean Universe

Nickelodean Universe

Nickelodeon Universe

Nickelodeon Universe

Nickelodeon Universe

Nickelodeon Universe

Lego Land in Nickelodeon Universe

Lego Land in Nickelodeon Universe

Lego Land in Nickelodeon Universe

Lego Land in Nickelodeon Universe

The mall of America was built on the same land where Metropolitan Stadium used to be. In Nickelodeon Universe there is a replica of home plate that marks the spot where home plate had been at the Old Met.

Replica of Home plate from the Old Met

Replica of Home plate from the Old Met

There is also a red seat on the wall from Metropolitan Stadium:

Red seat from the Old Met

Red seat from the Old Met

The seat marks the spot where Harmon Killebrew’s monstrous home run landed in the Old Met.

Speaking of Killebrew’s monstrous home runs… we arrived at the Giant Glove at 11:40.

DSCN2736b

Did you notice the people in the last picture were wearing winter coats and gloves? Yeah, that’s because it was 25 degrees when I got to Target Field. Later I would learn that this was one of the coldest Opening Day games in the history of Major League Baseball. This wasn’t the only cool thing about this game though; it was also the first Opening Day game to be played at Target Field.

Asher and I were greeted by Tony and his friend Jared. I believe that they have a tradition of attending the Twins home openers ever year.

DSCN2739

In an effort to stay warm, Tony was wearing his big foot costume.  He also wore it because it helps get the players’ attention. He wore it last year when he and his wife went to Kauffman Stadium. You can read his entry about Kauffman Stadium by clicking on this sentence. While you’re clicking links, you should read about THIS game from Tony’s perspective by clicking here.

Not too long after I took the picture, this happened:

DSCN2732

The usher farthest to the left in the previous picture walked over to the gate and put the ball in my glove. This wasn’t how I thought I would get my first ball of the season, but I was on the board!

Then Mateo showed up out of nowhere and we were all engaged in conversation while trying to keep warm.

DSCN2744

DSCN2742

… and once again Mateo was reunited with big foot… You can read about it by clicking here.

A half hour before the gates opened a ball was laced to right field. It cleared the wall and zipped across the plaza inside the gate. Tony and I both had a beat on the ball and were lined up perfectly, but it bounced off the gate and rolled just out of our reach. An usher hurried to the gate and placed it in my glove.

DSCN2740

This was only the second game that I got a ball outside the gates. This was the first game that I got two balls outside the gates.

When the gates finally opened at 1:00, the Tigers were just starting to warm up so I hurried to center field to speak with the usher from last year.

DSCN2745

John is a very nice man. He has been a Tigers fan for all his life.  He served in the Vietnam War when he was young. When he got back to America he got a job as an usher at Tigers Stadium. Just a few years ago he became an usher for the Twins at Target Field.  He was surprised when I asked to take his picture. Maybe I’ll tell him about this blog next time I see him.

When John and I finished talking, I positioned myself here:

DSCN2755b

Do you see the arrow in the last picture? It is pointing to Al Alburquerque. More on him in a moment.

Asher wanted me to put his magnet schedule (the giveaway for Opening Day) in my backpack, so I turned around to do so.  I had turned around for not more than 5 seconds when Al Alburquerque overthrew the ball and hit me in the back of my leg. I quickly snatched up the ball and looked at my new gem. Had I been looking, I would’ve caught the ball. His throwing partner asked for the ball back so I tossed it to him with the request of getting it back when he was done playing catch. He said he would give it to me when they finished throwing, but he never did. I decided to count it as my third baseball of the day because I had possession of it. I didn’t have to give it back, I chose to.

Shortly after this I got my fourth ball from Brayan Villarreal:

DSCN2765b

I gave this ball away to a family friend a few days after the game. He seemed to really appreciate the gift, so I was glad to do it.

This was the slowest batting practice I have ever witnessed. I saw a total of 3 homeruns the whole time. Plus, no matter where I went the Tigers were being frisky with their baseballs. Towards the end of batting practice I went to the Tigers dugout and talked with Ben Lacher and his dad. Ben is a pretty cool kid. In case you don’t know who he is, listen to/watch the interview I did with him. By the time I had gotten there Ben had already got 4 autographs.

As soon as bp ended, Asher and I went to the Dugout Box seats behind the Twins’ dugout. Tony had the same idea as we did, so we enjoyed each other’s company for the whole game.

DSCN2800

The best part of the game itself was getting to see my favorite pitcher pitch for the first time:

DSCN2820

He was electric. He fanned 7 batters in 5 innings without allowing a run.

Tony and I both tried for warm up and 3rd out balls, but neither of us were successful. In the top of the 7th inning I left the Dugout Box on the Twins’ side of the field, and went to the Dugout Box on the Tigers’ side of the field.

DSCN2832

While I was running back and forth for foul balls in the cross aisle I noticed that Ben and his dad were sitting in the first row behind the dugout. I found a seat right behind them and started talking with them again. Somehow Ben or his dad had also snagged a baseball.  As I got up to return to the cross aisle I was surprised to also see that Mateo was in the same section.

The Tigers beat the Twins 4-2 in 9 innings.

box score

As soon as the game ended I got a baseball from the umpire, Jim Joyce, at the umpire tunnel. This was AWESOME because it was an Opening Day commemorative baseball!

DSCN2834

The whole game Tony and I were getting worked up because the Twins weren’t allowing the players or coaches to give away the game balls. Not even the bat boy could give any away. All of the special balls were being sent to the authenticator to get authenticated. The Twins were *trying* to be frisky and save some money by selling the balls for $50 each. Anyways, I was thrilled to get a commemorative.

Following this I went to the 3rd base side of the dugout with Ben Lacher to see if Mario (the Tigers equipment man) could hook us up with something from the game. It didn’t look like Mario was going to hook us up so Ben and his dad left. Asher and Tony showed up and we all waited for Mario to finish cleaning the dugout. Tony and I got his attention by calling his name loudly. Mario indicated that he would come over soon. When he finally came over to us he was holding 3 baseballs. He tossed the first to me, the second to Tony, and the third to Asher. This was my 50th lifetime baseball!

DSCN2838

Mine and Tony’s were each commemorative! Asher’s wasn’t commemorative, but it was his first ball! Asher doesn’t ballhawk and has no interest in starting, but he was still happy to get the ball. Mario is in the background of the previous picture.

This is Asher and me after the game:

DSCN2839

And here are my two new gems that are being displayed on my shelf:

DSCN2840

I don’t usually do this in the entry itself, but I feel it is necessary for this game. Big thanks go out to the following:

  • Both Twins employees. Thank you for putting me on the board for 2013 and for doing it before the gates opened. Brilliant.
  • Brayan Villarreal. Thank you for rewarding fans who wear Tigers apparel to Tigers’ road games.
  • Al Alburqueque – maybe?
  • Jim Joyce. Thank you for my first umpire ball and my first Opening Day Commemorative.
  • Mario. Thanks for being awesome and hooking me up with a commemorative. You have hooked me up with 3 balls in 2 games.
  • Asher. Thanks for going to the game with me! You made all of this possible.
  • Ben Lacher. Thank you for the insight about Mario. I owe many thanks to you. You’re the man!
  • Tony Voda. Thank you for the tradition of “Thanks” at the end of your entries. Thanks for chilling at the game!
  • Mateo Fischer. It’s always great seeing you at the ballpark. I enjoy your company.

A Piece of The Game MVP:

Umpire Jim Joyce:           He gave me my first umpire ball, which was also an Opening Day commemorative. This was an awesome ball!

Player of The Game:

Justin Verlander:             He only allowed 4 hits in 5 innings while fanning 7 batters. Solid start for Opening Day. If it were later in the season he would’ve pitched more than 5 innings. He had a very strong start and earned the win.

verlander

Here is my final haul from the game (5 balls pictured because I gave one back to a player) :

IMG_20130402_242841_615

IMG_20130402_242927_792

As you can see, I grabbed a few ticket stubs on my way out of the Stadium. I also found an extra magnet schedule off the ground on my way out.

  • 6 balls at this game
  • 6 balls in 1 games this season = Avg. 6 balls per game
  • 11 consecutive games with at least 1 ball
  • 11 consecutive games with at least 2 balls
  • 5 consecutive games with at least 3 balls
  • 4 consecutive games with at least 4 balls
  • 4 consecutive games with at least 5 balls
  • 11 consecutive Twins home games with at least 1 ball
  • 9 consecutive Twins home games with at least 2 balls
  • 4 consecutive Twins home games with at least 3 balls
  • 3 consecutive Twins home games with at least 4 balls
  • 3 consecutive Twins home games with at least 5 balls
  • Gotten at least 1 ball from 11 different teams
  • 50 total balls

10 Comments

2 opening day balls, quite jealous. I went to the day after Opening Day at Citi and the Mets had none in BP. Oh well. As for the Mall of America, what would you suggest one sees while there, especially if they only have 2 hours to kill or so?

2 hours will be plenty of time for the mall, unless your girlfriend is planning to shop. :)
Honestly, I would suggest walking around the building once or twice on each floor first. There are 4 floors with plenty to do.
The underground aquarium is pretty popular as well as the amusement park.
The food courts are nice because one of them is fast food and the other one is higher end – fancy restaurants.
No matter what you choose to do, I think you will beable to cover almost all of the mall.
-Paul K

Thanks!

Yes! This was the blog entry I have been waiting for! The Opening Day balls are awesome, I’m glad that our trio all pocketed one. Hopefully it’s not too long before I see you again at Target Field!

Possibly later this month when the marlins are in town. We will have to see.

Wow, looks like a great experience! Very cool you guys got one of those baseballs, especially from the infamous Jim Joyce!

Ryan,
Thanks for reading and dropping a comment! I know that he made the wrong call, but I think that he is still a pretty respected individual in Major League Baseball. I just did a little reading on your blog, and I think that it is centered around a good purpose!
-Paul K

Absolutely, every umpire blows calls – I can attest to that. Unfortunately, it was just in a huge moment. He was completely humbled though and he seems like a nice guy.

Thank you, I appreciate your positive feedback!

Pingback: The Extraordinary Compilation of my 2013 Ballhawking Statistics « A Piece of The Game

Pingback: The Magic Number (Black lights and baseballs) « A Piece of The Game

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers

