MLB Fan Cave Internship

Earlier this school year I had to prepare a persuasive “Interview” speech for my speech class. I had to choose a job, create a resume and cover letter, and finally go through an interview for the job with my teacher. It has long since been handed in and graded, but I thought it might make for a fun/unique blog entry. I have just a few things to explain before I share my resume and cover letter with you.

1. Although this speech was created for a real job opening, it was not and is not for an application. I admit that it would be a cool job, but I don’t want a career in sports marketing.

2. One of my teacher’s requirements for the speech was that each student would apply while they are in college. Because of that, I “applied” in the spring of 2018.

__________________________________________________________________________

RESUME

Objective: To be a Fan Cave Intern
 
Education:
  • Bethany Lutheran College, major in Communication, minor in Sociology (2015-present)
  • Mayo High School graduate (2015)
  • Certified in CPR (2014-present)
  • Rochester Community Technical College, general education classes (2014-2015)
 
Experience:
 
Media Intern
St. Paul Saints, Saint Paul, Mn     (May 2017 – Sep 2017)
  • Radio Broadcasting
  • Box Office Management
  • Marketing & Sales
  • Media Relations
  • Community Relations
 
Sports Media Relations Intern
Rochester Honkers, Rochester, MN (April 2014 – Aug 2015)
  • Ticket sales
  • Marketing and sales
  • Game day photographer
  • Social Media Advertising
 
Skills:
  • Technology skills: Google Docs, WordPress, Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Photoshop, Facebook, Twitter
  • Languages:
    • Fluent in English
    • Conversational in Spanish
  • Work ethic (other skills):
    • Organized
    • Communicate well
    • Writing skills
    • Detail & goal oriented
 
Awards:
  • Dean’s List, 2015-2016, 2016-2017

__________________________________________________________________________

COVER LETTER

Major League Fan Cave
The Office of the Commissioner
245 Park Avenue, 31st Floor
New York, NY 10167
October 8, 2017 
 
Dear Advertising and Marketing Department,
 
I was very excited to learn about the Fan Cave Internship when I visited MLB.com. I am confident that my technology and marketing skills, baseball acumen and work ethic will help to compliment the Fan Cave. I believe I will be an excellent fit to highlight player personalities and showcase baseball fans’ passion for the game.
 
I am currently enrolled in my junior year at Bethany Lutheran College. I am majoring in Communication with a minor in Sociology. I do not plan to stop here. After I earn my Bachelors Degree in Communication I will go back to school to earn my Masters Degree in Sports Marketing.
 
The Fan Cave is all about highlighting player personalities and showcasing baseball fans’ passion for the game. In my previous internships many coworkers often commented on my knack for engaging fans into the game of baseball by working through the media. Whether it is through broadcasting, marketing and selling, or through media and community relations, I use my communication skills to connect people to Major League Baseball. I contribute critical thinking, creativity, and an organized work ethic along with many other traits that are essential in a successful workplace. I am very thankful to have had this experience so far and I would like to continue by working as the Fan Cave Intern next baseball season. I know I will be able to build on one of Major League Baseball’s main marketing initiatives.
 
I am excited about the possibility of working with your staff in order to express and showcase the pride and passion of the players and fans of Major League Baseball. Thank you for taking the time to look at my cover letter and resume. I would appreciate the opportunity to visit with you about working in your department. Please contact me at you convenience.
 
Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.
 
Sincerely,
 
Paul K
 
__________________________________________________________________________

The speech ended up being much more fun than I initially thought it would be. My interview went very well and I earned one of the top scores in my class.

Based on my resume and cover letter, what would you do?

4 Comments

I’d call you in for a sit-down interview, and as long as you were energetic and showed the love of baseball (which I know you have), you’re hired. Heck, even showing the interviews you’ve already done (and ones you are bound to do until the 2018 interview date, I’m sure those interactions and possible connections will also carry some weight.

PS: Great news about Spring Training this year.

I could have sworn that replied to this comment moments after you commented, but apparently I did not. Thanks for the nice words. Also, I’m getting antsy for spring training!

Nice job1 Even though I’m a kid I’d hire you. I got to wait a few more years for a this kind of opportunity. I’ve always wanted to work their! GOOD LUCK!
-David S.
http://bleacherboy.mlblogs.com/

Thanks David, I was able to have some fun with this entry. It also allowed me to switch a few things up on A Piece of The Game. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

