5-25-12 @ Target Field – Tigers vs. Twins

When the gates opened I ran to my normal spot in foul territory near the right field corner. Jeff Manship was about to throw me a ball, but I made the mistake of saying “Glen”, as in “Glen Perkins”.

Carl Pavano came out to right field to start jogging and stretching. Since I was pretty much the only person in the section we started to make small talk. “Hey Carl” , “hey whats up?” “not too much, you ready for a Win?” , ” Yeah”. Here is a picture of him jogging when we were done talking:

Carl Pavano

I watched batting practice from here for another 5 minutes, and then moved to left field. The Tigers took the field as I arrived in left field.

About 15 minutes later I got my first ball of the day, from this player:

Does anyone know who he is? Let me know.

His throw was really low and the ball bounced in the dirt. I had to play the short hop to make the catch. Luckily I was in the first row and had no problem making the play.

I figured I wouldn’t get another toss-up from here because most of the players near me saw me catch the ball. There were only 4 people near the right field corner so I decided to move there again.

ball #2

Only one player was in right field. Unfortunately he was throwing most of the balls back to the infield. Some time later, a ball landed where the “X” is. When he came to pick it up I popped the question. I couldn’t think of any “clever” ways to ask for the ball so I just said, “Could I please have that ball”? I ended up with my second ball of the day.

I could tell that bp would be ending soon so I moved to the Tigers dugout. No luck there.

To kill time, I walked to the bleachers in left/center field. I found a few empty seats on the aisle next to the bullpen and acted like I belonged there. The arrow in the next picture shows where I sat:

The clock showed “6:45”. T.C. made his way onto the field with a t-shirt shooting gun. I didn’t really think too much about it until he pointed to the section that I was in. T.C. aimed towards me and let it fly. I stood up, ran to my right, and made the catch. A lot of people congratulated me for my good catch.

I noticed that 2 baseballs were sitting in the bullpen. 5 minutes later Nate Dammann walked into the Twins bullpen, and since I was the only person paying attention, I was the first person to ask for a ball.

Nate heard me and tossed a ball to me. I thanked him and sat back down. The people in the section started staying things like “Whao you caught the shirt and got a ball!” and “You’re good at this!”

When the game started I found my dad and our friends that we had brought to the game. My dad also took my picture:

The three of them bought tickets together in section 107, but *I* bought a cheap ticket in left field. I didn’t intend to sit there very much because I was going to watch the game from different seats. I only sat in my actual seat for 1 inning.

In the 6th inning people started to leave because the Twins were losing 7-3. I used this to my advantage, and this is where I sat:

Do you see the arrow in left field? That is where my real seat was.

At the end of the 6th inning the Twins were still losing, and more people left. I stood at the top of the aisle that led to the dugout seats. I watched 4 season ticket holders walk up the steps. I politely asked if they were leaving. They said that they were leaving so I asked if I could have one of their tickets. They offered me all four of their tickets, but I politely accepted one. Look at my new seat:

I was shut out trying to get a warmup ball.

The Twins lost, the score was 10-6 at the end of the game.

The shirt was HUGE!

  • 3 balls at this game
  • 8 balls in 2 games this season = Avg. 4 balls per game
  • 2 consecutive games with at least 1 ball
  • 2 consecutive games with at least 2 balls
  • 2 consecutive games with at least 3 balls
  • 4 consecutive Twins home games with at least 1 ball
  • 11 total balls
  • Gotten at least one ball from 4 different teams

My next game will be on May 28th when the Twins play the A’s.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Now you see it, now you don’t! « A Piece of The Game

Leave a Reply

