6-13-12 @ Target Field – Phillies vs. Twins

I was really excited for this game for 3 reasons:

  1. I think the Phillies are very fun to watch
  2. It was an Interleague game
  3. I really wanted a few baseballs from the Phillies

A friend and I had driven to the game. When the gates opened we ran to this spot:

While in left field for 15 minutes I was denied a baseball 3 times. The players flat-out said “no”. Since there was no luck with toss ups I focused on catching home runs. I had no chance because the bleachers were full of people. It wouldn’t have mattered much anyways, because there weren’t a lot of players hitting them into the left field bleachers.

Since most of the people were standing in the bleachers, I ran to the foul line in right field. A ball landed in the row behind me but it bounced back to the field before I could grab it. It was a missed opportunity where I should have easily made the catch.

Sometime later another ball was hit in my direction. I ran down the row to grab it, but when I reached down for the ball, a lady in the row ahead of me reached under the seat and snagged it before I could get a hand on it.  Just as this was happening a player (the player on the bottom of the next picture) was going to throw me a ball, but he thought I grabbed the previous ball so he threw the ball to the same lady. She then gave it to her son, who had 3.

At 5:56 pm B.J. Rosenberg (the player on the top of the previous picture) fielded a ball near me. Since he had looked at me numerous times but hadn’t thrown me a ball I said, “Can I just have 1 ball please?” he responded, “Dude you got like 5!” I did my best to quickly explain how I came close to getting a few and how I still came up empty. I don’t know if he believed me or not, but he threw me the ball.

That was it for batting practice. 1 ball.

Fast forward to the game…

In the fourth inning Jim Thome hit a 454 foot homerun over the batters eye. It was the longest anyone has hit a home run at Target Field.

After the National Anthem Mr. Most (my friend that I was at the game with) and I bought Polish sausages. They were mouth-watering, and very messy. In the 7th inning Mr. Most bought us each a bag of mini donuts. In the bottom of the 8th inning I got us 2 tickets for behind the dugout.

The Twins lost 9-8 in 9 innings. Mr. Most and I stood behind the dugout when the game was over. A couple of minutes later, someone from the dugout rolled a ball across the top of the dugout. This was ball #2 for the day.

I gave the second ball to Mr. Most. In the next picture the ball is on the left.

I took the next picture when I got home (1 pictured because I gave 1 away).

  • 2 balls at this game
  • 16 balls in 4 games this season = Avg. 4 balls per game
  • 4 consecutive games with at least 1 ball
  • 4 consecutive games with at least 2 balls
  • 4 consecutive Twins Home Games with at least 2 balls
  • 6 consecutive Twins home games with at least 1 ball
  • Gotten at least 1 ball from 6 different teams
  • 19 total balls

The next game I’m going to is on 6-18-12 at Miller Park. I’m hoping to get my 20th ball there on Monday.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Now you see it, now you don’t! « A Piece of The Game

Leave a Reply

