White Sox vs. Twins @ Target Field (06-19-14)

infoThe forecast predicted rain. Normally I would’ve completely ignored this game, but I went for two reasons. (1) My friend Cody was accompanying me and this would be his first game at Target Field. (2) Tony Voda and Nate Duppler were going to be there. It had been three months since I had seen Tony, and two since I had seen Nate!

RAIN was the word of the day. No batting practice because of the RAIN:

IMG_20140619_170811_383

The game was delayed because of the RAIN:

IMG_20140619_190308_297

…And I bought a nacho helmet because of the RAIN:

IMG_20140619_194205

After a lengthy rain delay the grounds crew removed the tarp from the infield:

IMG_20140619_202142_695

After a 2 hour and 6 minute rain delay, the umpires approved the wet field for play:

IMG_20140619_203221_889

The highlight of the game was summed up in one picture. As Mateo Fischer once said, “friends make ballhawking more funner”:

Capture

After meeting up with Panda, a fellow Target Field ballhawk, we made our way to the White Sox dugout. When the game ended at 12:59 A.M. CT Panda and I each got a ball from Umpire Mark Wegner, and Cody got a ball from a White Sox coach.

IMG_20140620_240600_893

The game itself was not outstanding. In fact, it was probably one of the most boring games I’ve been to. However, the Twins pitching staff put on a show! Yohan Pino went 7 strong innings allowing 2 ER on 5 base hits while striking out 7 batters. Casey Fien was awarded the ‘W’ after he pitched a scoreless 8th inning. Glen Perkins earned the Save, and the Twins were victorious.

This was actually the latest I had ever been to a baseball game. Cody and I didn’t end up getting back to my house until 3 AM. WOW, talk about a long day!

(From ESPN) Here is the box score and other info from the game:

info1

info

2 comments

  1. lifeofasnagger

    Oh man. I didn’t realize how weird I looked in the group photo. I didn’t notice I was separated from everyone else! Maybe next time! By the way, I am probably going to the Saturday game against the Angels. Will you be there?

    • Paul K

      Nahhh you look fine! Ive taken plenty of pictures where i looked way more awkward than that. I would go to the angels game, but I’ll be out of state on Saturday. Hopefully see you before the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

