White Sox vs. Twins @ Target Field (09-03-14)

After being away from Target Field for nearly two months, it was nice to finally be back. I didn’t get up to Target Field at all during the month of August because I was busy visiting Wrigley Field, Miller Park and Kauffmann Stadium. I also got a new job in August so I was also focused on that. Fun Fact: By going to this Twins game I had now gone to a game at four different MLB stadiums within the last two weeks.

Within seconds of running into the stadium, I was on the board. Ball number one was courtesy of Oswaldo Arcia:

IMG_20140903_170510_626

It had never felt so good to get a baseball. After three road games in a row without a baseball, it was nice to be back in the comfort of my home ballpark. Thanks Oswaldo!

It wasn’t too long until the White Sox took the field, and batting practice was in full swing. Haha, Get it?

IMG_20140903_173431_459

Brownie Points… In the previous picture, Where’s Waldo? The White Sox were hitting a few home runs during batting practice, but for the most part it was another slow batting practice. The White Sox had to finish up a bit early today because the grounds crew had orders to deploy the tarp:

IMG_20140903_182402_605

Luckily for me, that didn’t stop me from getting another baseball. After peering into both bullpens I realized that there was only one ball that made it into the bullpens during batting practice. See it in the bottom left corner?:

IMG_20140903_183716_662

This unidentified White Sox (bullpen?) catcher tossed it up to me upon my request:

IMG_20140903_184122_870

If anyone has a clue to who he is, please let me know! The rain clouds ended up passing by without unleashing fury on Minneapolis. The pregame ceremonies continued according to schedule. When game time rolled around I took my nice seat. This was the scene right before first pitch:

IMG_20140903_190833_646

Trevor May got the start for Minnesota while John Danks took the hill for the White Sox. I thought it was kind of ironic (for the lack of their of) that there were two lesser known pitchers with losing records who were battling off against each other.

The Twins got the ball rolling by scoring three early runs in the first inning. That was due to Nunez’s RBI triple, Mauer’s RBI single, and Arcia’s RBI double. Lots of early offense!

The game was delayed for 16 minutes in the bottom of the fifth inning due to rain. There was a very short torrential downpour that only lasted a few minutes, but that was enough to scare thousands of fans out of the ballpark. Target Field was much emptier when the game resumed:

IMG_20140903_214800_927

Lets fast forward to the bottom of the 8th inning, where Minnesota is now leading 10,4. Doug Bernier got hit by a pitch on a 1-2 count and he was awarded first base. My favorite BB then departed from the Twins dugout in a reconnaissance mission to retrieve the ball. Once the target was acquired, he tossed it over to me:

IMG_20140903_223111b

The Twins tacked on an extra run in the eighth inning to lead 11 to 4. When the game ended I got my fourth and final ball of the night from Umpire Phil Cuzzi:

IMG_20140903_223857_736

Here’s the recap from extremely offensive game:

Each of the four baseballs I got were in good shape:

IMG_20140904_015225_171

This was a great game. I snagged four baseballs, Trevor May earned his first MLB Win, and the Twins had a stellar night at the plate. The Twins have now won five of the six games I’ve been to this year.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

