Tigers vs. Twins @ Target Field (09-16-14)

This game wasn’t in my season ticket package, but when I saw it on the schedule a few days prior I knew I wanted to go. This game, a Tuesday night game in mid September, practically had “low attendance” written all over it. Within a few minutes of entering Target Field, I was in possession of a pretty good looking baseball: IMG_20140916_170415_112

I was able to snag that when Chris Parmelee hit an absolute bomb to the plaza. I wasn’t able to get to it in time to catch it on the fly, but a ball is a ball! A few minutes went by and soon a Twins leftie, who I couldn’t identify, hit a homer that landed in section 136. Although I was a section away, I was the first to scramble to the ball: IMG_20140916_171200_594

That was it for the Twins portion of batting practice. The Twins had a really good session of batting practice today. With how the Twins were hitting I should have come away with a few more balls. Had I not been beat out by Waldo and one of the ushers a few times, I would’ve had five from the Twins session alone. It was nice to see the Twins had some pop in their bats. When the Tigers took the field I snagged one more baseball before I quit ballhawking. That was thanks to an unidentified Tigers player who hit this ball a very long ways: IMG_20140916_172258_609

I’m not exactly sure what it was about this ball but it stood out to me for some reason. After looking the ball over I decided this was the perfect ball to play catch with. The grip was great, the ball was slightly mudded up, and it was worn perfectly. From the looks of it, it was probably a game ball at one point. After snagging that last ball, I put my glove away for a while. Normally I wouldn’t do this, but I made an exception because Kennys Vargas and Danny Santana were scheduled to sign autographs in the team store beginning at 5:40. There was a big of a line ahead of me: IMG_20140916_173109_299

Once the line got moving it continued to move along pretty steadily. Soon I was next: IMG_20140916_174928_568

Vargas and Santana both had performed very well for the Twins this year. They’re expected to be some of the future stars of the Twins. If they continue to play like they did this year, then I have no doubt that they will someday lead the Twins. Vargas’ signature is on the left, and Santana’s is on the right: IMG_20140916_175025_561

Pretty, aren’t they? Those were nice additions to my autograph collection. I was back to snagging baseballs by 6:00, but the Tigers left the field soon after. At this point the stadium was practically empty: IMG_20140916_182237_494

I spent the majority of the game in the right field plaza with Waldo. Waldo has grown on me this year and I have come to enjoy his company during Twins games. Kennys Vargas got the ball rolling for the Twins in the fourth inning by hitting his first career triple. Later in the inning, Kurt Suzuki hit an RBI single to left field. The score remained 1-0 until Kennys Vargas hit a solo home run to right field in the sixth inning. Waldo and I each tracked the homerun, but it didn’t have enough distance to reach us on the plaza. Ricky Nolasco, for once, was pitching a phenomenal game.  He threw 109 pitches in eight innings, struck out five guys, and he only allowed five hits and one walk.  Glen Perkins, for once, pitched poorly. He gave up a double to Torii Hunter, a single to Miguel Cabrera, and a home run to J.D. Martinez. Curious about how this one ended? Watch the video!

I simply could not believe what happened. With the help of Plouffe, Bernier, Herrmann, Suzuki, Nunez and Hicks, the Twins were able to come away with the walk off victory. Wow. Of the seven Twins games I’ve been to this year, this was the sixth win and the second walk off victory. Go Twins! When the game ended, I got this gem from Umpire Cory Blaser:

IMG_20140916_215004_179

That was a real pearl. On my way out of Target Field I grabbed a bag of pistachios, courtesy of Wonderful. See all the pistachio boxes?:

IMG_20140916_220303_734

It reminded me of the All Star Game when I was given a box of cheez-its. This was the final haul of the day: IMG_20140918_244245_188

I found a few All Star items on the way out of the ballpark. Just a note: The ball that Vargas signed was from 9/11/13 when the A’s were in town. It was my 99th baseball snagged. More blog entries are on their way!

4 comments

    • Paul K

      Are you talking about the picture that shows five baseballs? I snagged four at the game, but I brought a ball from home to get signed by Vargas. That’s where the fifth ball is from.

      • lifeofasnagger

        Oooooooohhhh. I thought the first picture and the part where you said you got the Parms homer were 2 different balls. I assumed that you didn’t get a picture of the Parmelee home run and you just didn’t explain how you got the first one. Did you take any pictures for the next entry? I don’t remember you doing that.

        lifeofasnagger.mlblogs.com

  1. Pingback: 2014 In Review « A Piece of The Game

Leave a Reply

