Indians vs. Twins @ Target Field (09-19-14)

Today was bound to be a fun day at Target Field because it was the first day of fan appreciation weekend! Does anyone remember the Twins’ Twitter contest/giveaways from last year? That’s the reason I came back this year.

My day started off with a toss up from the Twins’ friendliest outfielder, Oswaldo Arcia:

IMG_20140919_170825_734

Waldo, Mike and I would back up onto the plaza when Chris Parmelee stepped into the box because he was absolutely crushing the ball today. After a few rounds though, I was caught off guard and I was still in the front row of the section when Parmelee hit a ball that was going to land on the plaza. Somehow I was able to get from the first row of the section to the flagpole in the plaza in time to make a running and leaping catch with my arm fully extended above my head. It was by far the best catch I’ve ever made.

IMG_20140919_171128_968

The Twins didn’t stay on the field much longer, and soon they were replaced by the Indians:

IMG_20140919_171620_245

Fun fact: This was the third Indians game I’d been to this year, but I still hadn’t snagged a ball from them. During batting practice I met up with Nate Duppler, his brother Ben, and their friends Andrew and Noah.

The Twins tweeted this shortly before the game started:

9-19

Nate and I were the first two people to claim a hat:
1411245345332

This is how the Twins annual Twitter giveaway works: At the top of each inning the Twins tweet a spot at Target Field where the 1st fan to find the Twins rep wins an autographed ball. The Twins tweeted this during the second inning:

9-19 top 2

Nate and I both won again. Mine was signed by Vance Worley:

IMG_20140919_192544_883

Vance Worley’s last appearance for the Twins was on May 22nd, 2013. I guess the Twins were clearing out some items they didn’t need anymore!

The first run of the game came in the third inning when Oswaldo Arcia hit a home run to right field. The Indians answered back in the fourth inning by stringing a few hits together, scoring 2 runs in the process.  In the fourth inning Kennys Vargas tied the game by hitting a solo shot to right field. This was the third consecutive game i’d been to where Vargas hit a homerun.

I won another baseball in the sixth inning:

9-19 top6

IMG_20140919_202725_538

Kevin Correia is another former Twin. His last appearance for the Twins was on August 6th, 2014. I was also the winner of the seventh inning giveaway:

9-19 top 7IMG_20140919_204253_641

This ball was signed by another former Twin, Alex Presley. Presley’s last appearance with the Twins was on September 29th, 2013. Hmm, all three balls that I won from the Twins were signed by players who were no longer members of the Twins. I think that’s kind of funny.

By the end of the seventh inning the score was 4-3, Cleveland. The twins tied the game in the ninth inning but couldn’t push for a victory quite yet. Looking to redeem himself after striking out in the ninth inning, Trevor Plouffe approached the plate with the bases loaded in the tenth. Luckily I was smart enough to record his walk off hit:

If you watched the video then you saw that after the game Mr. Fieldin Culbreth, the home plate umpire, gave the line up cards to me without me even asking. Pretty sweet!

Here are the highlights from the game:

My final haul from the day included five baseballs, three autographs, and two line up cards:

IMG_20140926_125707_731 IMG_20140926_125800_31420141209_152513

Nate set a new personal record of seven baseballs in one game. We both had a pretty good day ballhawking, but I’m sure that we both had an even better time just being at the game. This was one of my favorite games this season. Now the Twins have won seven of the eight Twins games I’ve been to this year. This was the third Twins walk off I’ve seen this year!

3 comments

  1. lifeofasnagger

    This game was definitely my favorite ever. Thanks for hanging out and running after baseballs with me. It was a time that I won’t forget. Fan App weekend won’t ever be the same now… 😦

  2. Pingback: 2014 In Review « A Piece of The Game

Leave a Reply

