D-backs vs. Twins @ Target Field (09-23-14)

This was the second game of the D-backs/Twins series. I’d gone to back to back games six different times last year, and this was my sixth time doing it this year. I was pumped when I snagged this ball before the games even opened:

IMG_20140923_163439_494

The ball was hit by a Twins player who I couldn’t identify. It bounced a few times on the plaza before it reached the gate where I was able to snatch it up.

When the gates opened I headed toward the seats in right field. I snagged one ball during the Twins portion of batting practice. I was on the Aisle of section 136 and 137 when Chris Herrmann hit a ball near me. After maneuvering my way to the middle of section 136, I caught this on the fly:

IMG_20140923_171253_073

When the Diamondbacks took the field I moved to the left field bleachers. During yesterday’s batting practice I noticed that even though the home runs were scarce, there were 2 or 3 guys who consistently hit to left field. Similar to yesterday, there weren’t many home runs hit, but I was still able to come away with one ball:

IMG_20140923_180638_934

I’m not sure who hit it, but it landed in the second row of the bleachers. I wasn’t able to catch it on the fly because there was an overly aggressive guy who pushed me out of the way on a few occasions. I almost told security but I didn’t want to miss out on any chances to get another ball. It’s ironic because either way I would’ve missed out on baseballs. I missed out on two baseballs because of this guy. The first time he pushed me out of the way so he could catch a homerun instead. The other time he literally fell on top of me, then crawled over me to pick up the ball. Can a baseball really be worth that much to some people?!

Before the game started Dominique hooked me up with another ball from the ball bag. Just like yesterday, I didn’t even ask him for a ball. Thanks Dominique!

IMG_20140923_185405_539

Kyle Gibson and Andrew Chafin faced off against each other on the mound. Joe Mauer got plunked on his right arm in the first inning and left the game in the second inning due to elbow contusion. The Twins started things off by scoring three runs in the second inning. The Diamondbacks scored in the fourth inning but by the end of eighth inning the Twins were ahead, 6-2.

Instead of going for an umpire ball after the game I decided to try my luck at the Twins dugout. This was my view when the ninth inning started:

IMG_20140923_220641_491

I didn’t snag a baseball, but I got a neat picture with seven members of the coaching staff in it:

IMG_20140923_221422_868

Here are the highlights:

This was the eighth win I had seen from the Twins in 11 games this year.

After the game I decided to stick around incase there was a chance to see Kennys Vargas outside the stadium again. As I was waiting I began to spot some of the Diamondback players leaving Target Field. Joe Paterson and Zeke Spruill both signed on the ball i’d gotten during the Diamondbacks portion of batting practice:

autos

There were a few other Diamondback players who walked past, but I didn’t recognize them enough to get their autographs. I also recognized Jordan Schafer and Josmil Pinto as they walked past. They were both friendly enough to stop to sign an autograph. They signed the ball that Chris Herrmann hit during the Twins portion of batting practice:

IMG_20140923_230339_853 IMG_20140923_230409_206

These four guys were awesome. They all took a few minutes to sign autographs for the small group of people who were waiting. I could tell that a few of them would’ve rather not signed, but they were still cool about it. The only player that I had a problem with was Didi Gregorius. When he and Ender Inciarte exited the stadium, they ignored everyone as they walked past and acted as if no one was there. I wasn’t upset because I knew that sometimes players don’t like to sign after games. I did get angry, though, when he told a five year old boy, “I don’t sign after losses.” This boy had chased after Didi to get his autograph and then he was crushed when Didi turned him down. What kind of stuck up player does that?! Didi Gregorius does.

After 45 minutes had passed I was about to leave, but then I spotted Kennys Vargas at the same place I saw him the day before. When he finished speaking with the guys he was with, I said hello. Like the night before, he seemed happy that I recognized him on the street and he kept up a conversation with me. We chatted for a few minutes and then he signed a ball and took a picture with me:

IMG_20140923_231339_065 IMG_20140923_231403_260

I’m already a huge Kennys Vargas fan! These are the baseballs that the players signed for me:

IMG_20140923_232009_025

Vargas signed ball #159 – a ball that was tossed to me by a diamondbacks player during batting practice yesterday. This was the final haul:

IMG_20140926_131008_481

This was a very solid day at the ballpark. It’s not that often when you get a handful of baseballs and then surpass that number with autographs.

Leave a Reply

